Ice Cream and My Neighbor’s Art

Art is about opening up doors that seem to be closed, and exposing the unnamed and the unreachable, the unspeakable.  Collaborative art is about reaching out, about sharing, about getting rid of ego to realize we all add to each others being by that which we know needs strength. Collaborative art is about support, about community, and of course exposure.

Tonight, the window to my backyard is open. It is a warm night in San Francisco.  Warm enough to eat ice cream without a sweater on, warm enough to touch the moon that lights up the spring plum tree in bloom.  I can hear the airplanes, the sirens, dogs.  Its too late to hear children, they must have all gone to bed.

The neighbors are laughing… they must have just finished dinner. A moment ago I heard my neighbors sharing stories, and now they are singing!  The most beautiful things, the most amazing things, happen, when people come together. Tonight I wish I had someone to dance with, but for now I will listen to the voices of the people next door who enjoy what is all of ours to share… each other.  What is greater than that, truly? -Hilary

Leave a Reply

